Nytt Land - Odal
  • €14.00

Nytt Land - Odal

  • Labels Cold Spring
  • Product Code: CD Digipak
  • Availability: In Stock

Siberian band NYTT LAND presents its new epic musical canvas. Working with the same unchanging 4 band-members, the musicians continue to revive the true magical sound of the Ancient North.


Oðal is inspired by the traditional music of the indigenous peoples of Siberia, the Old Icelandic epic and the atmosphere of classic Norwegian black metal.

This time the album was recorded without using samples; all parts of the instruments were performed live. All songs were recorded and mixed in one of the technical quality best Russian studios, "Radio Sibir", which strongly affected the sound quality. All the sounds of nature were recorded in western Siberia and northern Norway.

For the first time the 4-year-old son of Natalia and Anatoly, Yuri Pakhalenko, took part. By this they emphasise the concept of the album - heritage.

As in the previous album, Fimbulvinter (CSR234CD), Oðal features the traditional Siberian overtone singing technique "kargyraa", but the overtone singing by vocalist Natalia Pakhalenko gives a special character to the sound. This is very unique, since this technique is a almost exclusively a male singing practice due to its physicality.

So, it's time to start the path to the roots...

Nytt Land band:

Anatoly “Nordman” Pakhalenko – vocals, throat singing, tagelharpa, percussion, keys, programming, mixing.
Natalya “Krauka” Pakhalenko – vocals, throat singing, frame-drum, jew-harp, tin whistle.
Vladimir Titkov – tin whistle, recorder, tenor recorder, percussion, voice.
Sergey Silitcky – drums, percussion, voice.

Guests musicians: Yuri Pakhalenko – voice (Deyr Fé / The Heritage)
Viktor Romanenkov – warrior’s choir (Darraðarljóð)
Nikolai Vlasov – warrior’s choir (Darraðarljóð)

All songs recorded, mixing and mastering – MKR-Media studio (Omsk), October 2017 – January 2018.
Sound producer – Anatoly Pakhalenko.

Art: Vard Svanov

CD is
presented in a 6-panel digipak.

1. Darraðarljóð / The Song of the Valkyries 03:20
2. Ragnarök 06:38
3. Midsommar 07:08
4. Hávamál 06:31
5. Norður / Yule Song 06:25
6. Tagelharpa Song 02:44
7. Deyr Fé / The Heritage 09:11
8. Völuspá 05:35 9. Sigrdrífumál / The Ballad of The Victory-Bringer 06:53

Nytt Land - Odal