Dalhous - The Composite Moods Collection Vol.2 (Clear DLP)
  • €34.00

Dalhous - The Composite Moods Collection Vol.2 (Clear DLP)

  • Labels Denovali
  • Product Code: 12" Coloured Vinyl DLP
  • Availability: In Stock
Dalhous end the 5-year silence with the long awaited follow up to 2016's House Number 44, presenting the second volume of The Composite Moods Collection. Point Blank Range reinterprets the established narrative with an inverse look at the proceedings. Dalhous deliver another psychedelic quasi-visual experience, with nods to the likes of Fabio Frizzi, Brian Gascogne and Chu Ishikawa.

From the outset, the album offers a narratively uncooperative stance, weaving together layers of anxiety and painful specificity that often overtly manifests the psychotic protagonist's stormy interior state. A clearly subjective assault, which is made evident right from opening track 'Transceivers' through to the imploding nature of 'Intramuscular Administration’, to the vulnerable, psychedelic mania of 'Open As A Glade Unfolding'. Continuing to work within the framework of a soundtrack-like structure, Dalhous ramps things up to provide the aural equivalent of sound and picture, manifesting an almost quasi-visual experience.

The entire record can be listened to as a continuous piece, each track seamlessly linked together as though part of an interconnecting nervous system. Where House Number 44 offered airy, widescreen soundscapes of detached detail, Point Blank Range presents an altogether different form. Creating airtight vacuums of agitated twitching feeling, tracks are pulled to the forefront of the stereo field, continually mutating their densely painted neurochemical hallucinations with a breadth of sound previously unheard on previous releases.

Listeners will be able to decipher nods to long standing soundtrack influences from composers such as Fabio Frizzi, with his use of strikingly bold and haunting melodies, to Tangerine Dream’s distinctively foggy atmospheres of The Keep. There are moments that evoke the nihilistic drones of Brian Gascoigne’s soundtrack to Phase IV, and the more horrific passages of metal clanging ambience from the likes of Chu Ishikawa with his scores for Shinya Tsukamoto.

After their former record label Blackest Ever Black disbanded, Dalhous found themselves out on a limb. It took 5 years to find a new home with Denovali. Given the unusually extended period between records, Dalhous had the time to dive deeper into the material, rendering a level of experimentation previously unavailable to them. Over 4 hours of material was created, a total of 1TB of data. Countless revisions to the track listing ensued with some of the unused material being reutilised in the making of the final chapter in the trilogy to form a direct companion piece.

Written, recorded and mixed by Marc Dall
Engineered by Alex Ander
Mastered by Daniel Rejmer
Cover photograph and design by Marc Dall
Layout by Thomas Hack
Special thanks to Lily McNamee

Thick matte covers with a special 3d print, black polylined inner sleeves, 180g vinyl, includes download code. This is the limited edition on clear vinyl.

1. Transceivers 02:29
2. A Mould Beyond Perception 03:00
3. False Fusion 02:32
4. The Bird Of Paradise 03:15
5. Everything Is Bleeding 05:35
6. Self-Mutilation 02:26
7. Phantasies From The Schema 06:25
8. Scope 02:31
9. Hallucinatory Violence 02:39
10. Grotesque. Empty. Spaces 02:51
11. Open As A Glade Unfolding 05:24
12. Emersion 03:52
13. Intramuscular Administration 05:40
14. Locked Within Herself 03:04

Dalhous - The Composite Moods Collection Vol.2: Point Blank Range