Charles Richard - Sonic Earth
  • €15.00

Charles Richard - Sonic Earth

Charles Richard is a Royal College of Art Alumni exploring multidisiplary theams. Founding Sonic Earth in 2017, the platform incorporates archival process, installation design and composition to reveal the potential of geological languages as vessels of sonic mystery. Working as an intermediary between the material and listener, Sonic Earth creates processed digital soundworlds composed directly through the internal resonances of extracted layers of the compressed landscape.

“ Each rock is a testament of time that encapsulates universe and Earth. For the Sonic earth project I am seeking ways to synthesize the sounds of rocks. Working from this 21st century standpoint to rewire new sonic perspectives and experiences through the library of geological time. Over the last few years this work has discovered and evolved new ways of recording to capture a true audial of each resonant body. Recording rock tableau from both my own travels and also with the opportunity to record from the archive within the Natural History Museum, London, I have amassed a number of material recordings."

Charles Richard, September 2021

All tracks mixed and produced by Sonic Earth, 2018-2021
Mastering by Matteo Sinazzè Savaris @ Jung Studio
Cover photos by Bjarne Riesto
Booklet photos courtesy of United States Geological Survey
Layout by Rutger Zuydervelt

CD comes in a 4-panel, gloss finished digipak with 8-page booklet.

1. Egyptian Orange Onyx 05:48
2. Jaune De Castille 09:20
3. Elbow Valley Final 05:15
4. Valencia Cream 03:48
5. Sculpture 5 07:24
6. Cipollino Dorato 01:43
7. Four Stones 06:57
8. Conglomerate Marble 04:27
9. Estoril Marble 04:29
10. Jerusalem Marble 05:20
11. Black Granite 02:00
12. Indian Forest Marble 05:39
13. Pentalikon 06:35

Charles Richard - Sonic Earth