Anthology Of Persian Experimental Music
  • €14.00

Anthology Of Persian Experimental Music

'After more than three years, the Unexplained Sounds Group releases a CD version of the previously only digital “Persian experimental underground survey”, one of the most recognized anthologies focusing on experimental and alternative music from Iran. It includes 4 digital bonus tracks, a new cover artwork and was re-mastered for the cd version. Initially, the compilation was released under the banner “Iranian” experimental music survey, but due to political issues with Iran it was put into the black list, so we had to change the title to avoid being blocked on various digital platforms.

We want to thank Mohamad Reza a lot for his help in discovering the stunning experimental music scene in Tehran. This work is dedicated to the memory of Elias Leon Vivas, brilliant music critic and dear friend.' - Raffaele Pezzella

'Music is imprinted into Persian culture pre-dating Islam by more than 1400 years. By the time of its arrival in Iran in the 7th century, Persians had already developed the core of the theoretical framework of music of Middle Eastern origin still valid to this day. The 12th Century represented a point of departure as Sufism penetrated Persian culture and poetry became intertwined with music.

By surveying avant-garde music in Iran, Unexplained Sounds Group has made their first incursion outside “western culture” into a highly fertile ground. Not surprisingly, this journey has been handsomely rewarded. The sample consists of high quality tracks where we found a wide range of unique voices and compositional styles resulting in a mature body of work. Upon listening to these remarkable artists you are left wondering if there is a better cultural fit than Iran for experimental music to develop outside the west.' - Elias Vivas

CD comes in a 4-panel digipak. Glass mastered limited second edition.

1. Tehransmission - Leaving the Planet 05:06
2. Umchunga - Turbulence I 07:52
3. Idlefon - After The Quake 05:48
4. Bicolor - Them Crown 02:21
5. Nyctalllz - Opscurus 08:14
6. Varkâna - Varkâna 07:16
7. idft - R 04:50
8. Spectro Duo - Lajevard Excerpt 2 04:38
9. Xerxes The Dark - Xtraterrestrial 07:27
10. Ostanes - Hemelvaart 06:27
11. Alphaxone - Intuition 06:51
12. S.S.M.P. - Engines On 07:18

Ostanes - Hemelvaart