Khost - Buried Steel
  • €14.00

Khost - Buried Steel

  • Labels Cold Spring
  • Product Code: CD Digipak
  • Availability: In Stock
The brand new album Birmingham industrial doom metal duo Andy Swan (FINAL, IROHA) & Damian Bennett (TECHNO ANIMAL, CARTHAGE), feat Stephen Mallinder (CABARET VOLTAIRE, WRANGLER), Eugene Robinson (OXBOW) and more… ‘Buried Steel’ is the fourth album from KHOST, following the 2017 release ‘Governance’.

Themes and sonics of ‘Buried Steel’ range from granite and impassive to dreamlike and somnambulistic, in keeping with the promise – and threat – of the title, dwelling on slow, infallible ruination: a gravitational downthrust upon misshapen monuments and structures which are mangled, overgrown and increasingly forgotten. A monochrome landscape where nature reclaims and redefines us as time passes.

Recording of the album was marred with events such as an electrical fire which damaged some equipment. As a result, a number of tracks on the album had to be pieced together from damaged analogue elements such as reel to reel (Khost reel to reel RIP). From this point, the dynamic of some of the songs was altered, shifting their eventual outcome, particularly the tone of ambient work on Buried Steel.

Further guests on ‘Buried Steel’ include Syan, Manuel Liebeskind, Daniel Buess (16-17, MIR) and Stephen Ah Burroughs (TUNNELS OF AH, ex-HEAD OF DAVID).

'Buried Steel' Recorded 18-19.
Art by Khost
Mastered by Martin Bowes at The Cage

CD comes in 6-panel digipak with artwork contributions from Talitha Bell, Syan and Craig Earp.

1. We Will Win 04:06 video
2. Blood Gutters 6x4x1 04:48
3. Intravener 02:57
4. Yellow Light 01:54
5. Last Furnace 05:33
6. Night Air 04:07
7. Judgement Is Infallible 01:48
8. Kent House 01:17
9. December Bureau 05:26
10. Vandals 01:57
11. Dog Unit 04:13
12. Two 01:19
13. A Non Temporal Crawlspace 04:18
14. Intravener In Dub (Mothboy Remix) 08:12

Khost - Buried Steel