Rapoon - Offworld OP1 Equs: Mercury Rising II
  • €13.00

Rapoon - Offworld OP1 Equs: Mercury Rising II

  • Labels Winter-Light
  • Product Code: CD Digipak
  • Availability: In Stock

Rapoon returns to Winter-Light for this, his third release on our label.

In celebration of this, his 25th Silver Anniversary, we are releasing a trilogy of new work from Rapoon entitled ‘The Mercury Rising Trilogy’. The Mercury Rising Trilogy will comprise of three brand new studio albums, all with exclusive material. The albums will bring a new feel to Robin’s work, that of a more off world spacious feel, jazzy in parts with a ceremonial thread running throughout. Each album interlinked by this feel and theme, as the titles suggest, but with each one still having it’s own unique identity.

Here we present to you
the second installment of the Mercury Rising Trilogy - 'Offworld OP1 Equs'. The trilogy began with 'Sanctus Equinox', released through Winter-Light in November 2017. The journey now continues.......

Every 150 years the moons align and block out the light entirely from the small inhabited planet of Offworld OP1. Too cold even for the androids to survive they move en-masse to the farthest moon Celios and wait out the winter in the relative warmth.

The ice crystals in the nearby gas planets rings reflect the meager light of the far sun and throw rainbows down to the surface of Celios… a sign…

The androids have built their shelters in the shape of the six pointed star with a circular perimeter representing the outer rings of home system Saturn and the sun that moved.

Looking back along the aligned moons they diminish in intensity until Offworld is just a shadow, a memory. Waiting. It will take six months before the the first light shines again on Celios and another six before the androids will return. Celebrations await that return…. for now there is only the slow resignation of winter and a promise of it’s end.

Spacious synth sweeps glide through the air, whilst icy piano tones play out, filling the spaces with crystallised sounds. Drums crack and fall away, a lo-fi saxophone plays a sombre song to itself, as alien voices raised to the skies chant the mantras of a temporarily dislodged Offworld race of sentient beings.    

All tracks by Rapoon www.rapoon.org
The album has been mastered by Robin Storey.

© Robin Storey 2018
© Winter-Light 2018

Cover concept and design by Midnight Sun Studio.

The Glass Mastered CD comes in a full colour 6-panel digipak and is strictly limited to 300 copies. The album comprises of 7 new tracks, total running time 55:35.

Digital available via Bandcamp.

1. Through Glass And Clouds (06:28)
2. A Sun Shines Into ... (06:21)
3. We Beat Our Drums (06:56)
4. The Crystals Form Along The Edge (05:51)
5. The Procession Of Flowers (05:42)
6. A Sequence Of Lights, We Travel In Darkness (06:05)
7. An Aria And Whispers Bells Tolls On Moons (18:08)

Rapoon - Offworld OP1 Equs (Official Promo Video)