Stromstad - New Devoted Human
  • €13.00

Stromstad - New Devoted Human

Few names imply mind-bending, forward thinking heavy electronics like Finnish stalwarts, and with every release, they seem to further stretch the boundaries of what can be a pretty rigid genre, and navigate realms never before seen or heard.

Similar things can be said of Norwegian atmospheric heavy weight and Malignant staple, Kristoffer Oustad, whose particular strain of dark ambient and post-industrial soundscapes are incredibly dynamic, at times surreal and cinematic, other times more driving and heavy, but all with a recognizable, highly emotive touch. Put the two together, and you get the debut of their collaborative project, STROMSTAD.

Spread out over 8 tracks, this is a dizzying exploration of sound and vocal fury, where mechanized pulsations, writhing frequency oscillations, and grinding machine loops meet stretches of drifting darkness and touches of musicality, suggestive of a future that’s dystopic and bleak on one hand, yet highly innovative and revolutionary on the other.

Featuring a guest appearance by Grutle Kjellson from the mighty Enslaved, mastering by Nordvargr, paintings by Jeff Klena and design by Alonso Urbanos.

CD comes in 6-panel digipak.

1. Inherent Resurrection 04:18
2. Fever Wave Dream Function 04:06
3. Blood Consciousness 03:47
4. Nattsvermer 06:37
5. Reluctant Traveller (feat. Grutle Kjellson) 03:24
6. Exchanging Eyes 04:32
7. New Devoted Human 05:03
8. Kosto 04:27

Stromstad - New Devoted Human