Rapoon - Sol Laude: Mercury Rising III
  • €13.00

Rapoon - Sol Laude: Mercury Rising III

  • Labels Winter-Light
  • Product Code: CD Digipak
  • Availability: In Stock
Rapoon returns once more to the Winter-Light label....

In celebration of his 25th Silver Anniversary, we have released a trilogy of new work from Rapoon entitled ‘The Mercury Rising Trilogy’. The Mercury Rising Trilogy comprises of three brand new studio albums, all with exclusive material. The albums will bring a new feel to Robin’s work, that of a more off world spacious feel, jazzy in parts with a ceremonial thread running throughout. Each album interlinked by this feel and theme, as the titles suggest, but with each one still having it’s own unique identity.

The trilogy began in November 2017 with 'Sanctus Equinox', which was then followed by 'Offworld OP1 Equs'. The Mercury Rising Trilogy now draws to it’s conclusion with 'Sol Laude' thundering it’s way through the universe, leaving it’s impression trailing across the cosmos like a giant comet’s tail. Deep industrial, space ambience and majestic choral bursts are interspersed with retro sci-fi electronica, emotive piano elements and off-world jazz.

Rapoon's signature sound and structures are still very much evident on this release, but yet again Robin brings a different feel to the listener that has beautifully evolved across this triptych of his latest work.

The replicants have followed a well known path. Disagreements and divisions began to grow and sectarianism proceeded to develop. Soon it was an all out war of religious intolerance. Fighting took place and many died.

Quietly , and without being noticed, those who held no radical religious beliefs gathered their things and slipped away in small ships and set course for a new life somewhere far away from the division and hatred that had developed in what was once a united community. They journeyed for many years and eventually found somewhere new. An indigenous lifeform of primitive primates seemed to be the most advanced species on the warm planet with blue seas and green forests. It was almost Utopia.

Some of the replicants sang a song of thanks for safe passage and arrival. A white moon shone down.

All tracks by Rapoon. www.rapoon.org
The album has been mastered by Robin Storey.
Release date 19th April 2019.

© Robin Storey 2019
© Winter-Light 2019
Cover concept and design by Midnight Sun Studio.

CD comes in a 6-panel full colour digipak limited to 300 copies. 8 tracks with a total running time of 61:03.

Digital available via Bandcamp.

1. attack ships on fire
2. aftermath
3. Elysium’s promise
4. A bell ..far reaching..
5. prelude one.
6. This great expanse
7. A new sun
8. incinio

Rapoon - Sol Laude (Official Promo)