The Kilimanjaro Darkjazz Ensemble - s/t DLP
  • €32.00

The Kilimanjaro Darkjazz Ensemble - s/t DLP

  • Labels Denovali
  • Product Code: 12" Black Vinyl DLP
  • Availability: In Stock
2022 Reissue of the The Kilimanjaro Darkjazz Ensemble s/t debut album from 2006.

The Kilimanjaro Darkjazz Ensemble formed in 2000 as a project to compose new music for existing silent movies. Jason Köhnen and Gideon Kiers, both graduates of the Utrecht School of Arts, combined their audio and visual skills to reinterpret classic movies by F.W. Murnau (Nosferatu) and F. Lang (Metropolis). That such an intention ends in quality should be clear from the start.

In 2004 UK trombonist Hilary Jeffery and Swiss cellist Nina Hitz joined TKDE to record this self-titled debut album which was released in May 2006. The ensuing tour saw Eelco Bosman and Paris based vocalist Charlotte Cegarra join, making the ensemble a sextet. London based violinist Sadie Anderson joined in 2008 to supply the group with extra power on stage.

Due to the vast possibilities within the band, the sound spectrum of TKDE is really hard to capture within one specific composition. Moreover, the project leaned towards various styles depending on the respective members working together at a given time - a good mix between atmosphere and technique always was the strong basis for a TKDE composition. The highly praised debut album of the Dutch cult ensemble finally available again on CD & vinyl.

Thick matte gatefold covers, black polylined inner sleeves, 180g vinyl, download code. This is the regular edition on black vinyl.

1. The Nothing Changes 04:57
2. Pearls For Swine 05:50
3. Adaptation of the Koto Song 03:58
4. Lobby 06:57
5. Parallel Corners 03:36
6. Rivers Of Congo 03:21
7. Solomon's Curse 05:28
8. Amygdhala 04:00
9. Guernican Perspectives 04:48
10. Vegas 06:12
11. March Of The Swine 20:00

The Kilimanjaro Darkjazz Ensemble - S/t