Atomine Elektrine - The Antikythera Mechanism DLP
  • €25.00

Atomine Elektrine - The Antikythera Mechanism DLP

  • Labels Winter-Light
  • Product Code: 12" Black Vinyl DLP
  • Availability: In Stock

A container of all the knowledge about the universe. The motion of the gears deeply intertwine a link between micro- and macrocosm. A mechanism that simulates cosmology and senses characteristics of an eclipse, with color, size and associated winds.

Define a question, and there will be a calculated answer, even capable of astral divination. Is it an all-seeing eye, or perhaps something beyond even that; a magic entity capable of creating the cosmic events that it is supposed to measure and foretell. If so, is it by nature auspicious or ominous. Or is it merely a representation and extension of ourselves and our senses, trying to reach both the celestial and the intrinsically unobtainable?

Winter-Light warmly welcomes Peter Andersson to our label, with his 'Atomine Elektrine' project and a stunning new studio album 'The Antikythera Mechanism'.

Here we are invited or compelled even, to delve deep into the intricacies and finely tuned mechanics of this mysterious, all-encompassing machine.

Infinitely extending it's influence across multi-dimensions of time and space, constantly calculating, cogs ever turning, gears whirring, mapping, learning, storing and moving ever onwards. Leaving in it's wake, a vast ocean of unimaginable cosmic events, left to ripple through time until they too fade away to become yet another click in the eternal cycle of 'The Antikythera Mechanism'.

Difference between the CD/Digital and vinyl version

'The Antikythera Mechanism' has a small degree of randomness built-in to the sounds which means that the output of each rendering becomes slightly different. The tracks on the vinyl are of a different rendering than the tracks for the CD/Digital version. This is a natural glitch in 'The Antikythera Mechanism' and it is more or less noticeable.

The sounds are the same but the positions in the sounds are time offset in an arbitrary mode. Any further inequalities are due to the fact that a different mastering technique has been utilised for the vinyl version, than for the CD/Digital version.

As well as there being a different final rendering for the vinyl version, the DLP also comes with an additional and exclusive track, which clocks in at 19:52.

© Peter Andersson 2019
© Winter-Light 2019
Cover concept and design by Midnight Sun Studio.
All sonic fragments and tonalities cosmically geared by Peter Andersson 2018-2019. Pre-mastering by Peter Andersson 2019.

Cantos extracts appearing on the artwork taken from the Swedish 'Aniara', a poem by Harry Martinson, 1956.

Black vinyl DLP 140g comes in a full-colour, 350g paper, gloss-finished gatefold sleeve with black poly-lined inner bags. Limited to 200 copies. 
7 tracks with a total running time of 80:42 mins.

Digital available via Bandcamp.

A1 - Arcturus Alpha Boo (10:33)
A2 - Metonic Spiral (10:02)
B1 - The Exeligmos Pointer (09:37)
B2 - Time Dislocated in the Mechanism (09:51)
C1 - Epicylic Gearing (10:07)
C2 - Fragment F (10:40)
D1 - On the Eight of the Anthesterion (19:52)

Atomine Elektrine - The Antikythera Mechanism (Official Promo video)